top of page
  • Writer's pictureLacey Frazier

Mama needs a new do


I've had the same look my entire life, I've basically always looked 14 years old. Being almost 22 and a new mom I found myself in a constant battle of figuring out what look is the right one for the 'new' me. I know most moms going through postpartum can relate to what I'm going through, your body inside and out has changed completely and aside from taking care of a little human you're trying to feel even just the slightest bit human for yourself. Before having a baby most of my clothes were either too tight to pull from my skin, or had that sexy little waist/belly exposure right above my pants. Not that there's anything wrong with a little extra skin and push up but aside from my wardrobe being 2 sizes too small, it just wasn't me anymore. I wanted comfort.


I got to that point in pregnancy where I had the excuse to wear my boyfriends clothes because nothing else fit me, that became a regular habit even after giving birth. I have curves in new places and actual boobs and that sweet little belly pooch I haven't gotten rid of from pregnancy. I gained 40 pounds when pregnant with Ocean and after giving birth I still have 10 pounds of baby weight that I'm learning and accepting to LOVE!


So with discovering a new style at a new size, I was also at that point in my hair cut where it was in the middle of being long and somewhat short stage. My main go-to was a messy top bun most days because let’s be real...being a mama is exhausting and it's too freaking hot in Arizona to wear your hair down everyday! But even Jon was starting to question where my effort had gone and was starting to miss the days I would dress up for him. I know he loves me no matter what but I also know he was getting tired of seeing my shiny white forehead everyday. I really felt like I was losing my self esteem especially knowing the only persons opinion that I care about was starting to notice a difference in me.


I told myself I would never let myself go due to being a parent and I knew I had to do something for myself. So i did something drastic and just went for it. CHOP GOES THE MOP! Let me tell you, I never thought just one thing could change your appearance SO much. My cute little bob made my hair feel so much more thick, curly and I swear I can just wake up and it looks AMAZING! Not only has my confidence skyrocketed but the hubs can’t keep his hands off of me ever since getting it cut. He's been commenting on how much he loves it and making me feel so beautiful. I had always hated the thought of short haircuts since I love my top buns and up-do's but now it sits off my neck and it takes 10 minutes to do any style. I feel like a sexy WOMAN and a badass mama!


The point of this post is, if any of you mamas are feeling down in the dumps about yourself or even if you don't have any children and need a confidence boost, TREAT YOURSELF BECAUSE YOU'RE WORTH IT. Self love is SO important, get your hair done, your nails and toes did, get a massage, get a new supply of makeup, try that new color of lipstick or eye shadow you're thinking may be too bold, get yourself those shoes you've been eyeing for months, read a good book and drink an expensive bottle of your favorite wine, dine at the best restaurant in town...make yourself happy. Don't guilt yourself into thinking you don't deserve self love and pampering because others need to be put first. In order to put others first, sometimes takes a change in who YOU are. Tell yourself you're beautiful and reward yourself for trying and being the best version of you. To live and love your best life, you must freely love yourself. Do what makes you happy, do what makes you passionate, do what makes you feel ultimately you.


16 views1 comment
bottom of page